Mexican third baseman Ramón Urías wins the American League Gold Glove

Baltimore Orioles third baseman, Mexican Ramón Urías, won the American League Gold Glove.

Urías, 28, of Magdalena de Kino, won the Rawlings Award for the first time in his three-year Major League career, playing all the time for Baltimore.

According to the ESPN Stats & Info Group, Urías joined Rubén Amaro (1964), Aurelio Rodríguez (1976) and Fernando Valenzuela (1986) as the only Mexican-born players to win a Gold Glove.

Ramón Urías is the third Orioles shortstop to win a Gold Glove, joining Brooks Robinson (16 times) and Manny Machado (2 times).

Additionally, fourteen players won a Gold Glove for the first time this year, the most in a season (the previous record was 11).

Nine of the 10 American League hitters were first basemen, the most in the league in a season. The previous high was seven, which occurred in the American League in 1990 and 2020.

Here are all the winners and some notes provided by the ESPN Stats and Info group:



Shane Bieber (first Golden Glove in his career)

Shane Bieber has committed just one error in his 200 innings this season.


José Treviño (1st Golden Glove in his career)

José Treviño became the third Yankees catcher to win a Gold Glove, joining Elston Howard (2x) and Thurman Munson (3x).

Treviño ranked third in MLB in defensive runs saved across all positions this season (21).


Vladimir Guerrero Jr. (1st career Golden Glove)

Vladimir Guerrero Jr. wins his first Golden Glove; his father never won one in 16 MLB seasons. Guerrero Jr. is the first 1B in Blue Jays history to win a Gold Glove.


Andrés Giménez (1st career Golden Glove)

Andrés Giménez is the third Cleveland second baseman to win a Gold Glove, joining Roberto Alomar (3x) and César Hernández.

Giménez has recorded 12 home runs above average this season, second among MLB second basemen (source: Statcast).


Ramon Urias

Urias led the entire AL 3B with seven outings above average this season (source: Statcast).


Jeremy Peña (1st career Gold Glove)

Jeremy Peña is the first rookie in MLB history to win a Gold Glove. He joins Roger Metzger and Carlos Correa as the only Astros players to win a Gold Glove.

Peña’s 15 runs saved this season were tied for the most among SS.


Steven Kwan (first Gold Glove in his career)

Steven Kwan led both leagues as a LF in strikeouts (12) this season (source: Statcast).


Myles Straw (first career gold glove)

Myles Straw had 12 saves this season, tied for second among CFs (source: Statcast)


Kyle Tucker (first career Gold Glove)

Kyle Tucker joined Cesar Ceden (1972-76) and Michael Bourn (2009-10) as the only players in Astros history to win a Gold Glove as an outfielder.

Tucker led all AL RFs with 13 RBIs


DJ LeMahieu (fourth career Gold Glove)

DJ LeMahieu’s fourth career Gold Glove is his first award at a position other than second base.

LeMahieu has started 30+ games at three different positions (2 or more OAAs at each of those positions – Statcast).



Max Fried, Braves (3rd career Gold Glove)

Max Fried wins the gold glove for the third season in a row. He joins Zack Greinke (6) and Dallas Keuchel (5) as the only active pitchers to win at least three Gold Gloves. Led by Greg Maddux, Braves pitchers have now won 19 Gold Gloves, the most of all time.


JT Realmuto (2nd career Gold Glove)

JT Realmuto wins his second Gold Glove in four seasons with the Phillies, joining Bob Boone as the only catchers to win multiple Gold Gloves with the team.

Realmuto had nine stolen bases saved, five more than any other catcher.


Christian Walker (first Golden Glove in his career)

Christian Walker led all first basemen with 17 RBI; no other 1B had more than six this season.

Walker is the second Diamondbacks first baseman to win a Gold Glove Award (Paul Goldschmidt 3x).


Brendan Rogers (first Gold Glove in his career)

Brendan Rodgers finished second in MLB in defensive runs at all positions this season (22).

Rodgers is the second Rockies second baseman to win a Gold Glove Award (DJ LeMahieu 3x).


Nolan Arenado (tenth career gold glove)

Nolan Arenado has won a Gold Glove every year since entering the majors in 2013. His streak of 10 consecutive Gold Gloves is tied with Ichiro Suzuki for the longest starting streak in MLB history.

It’s also the fourth-longest streak by an infielder at any point in his career.


Dansby Swanson (first career Gold Glove)

Dansby Swanson joined Andrelton Simmons (2x) as the only Braves shortstop to win a Gold Glove.

Swanson led all SS in strikeouts (20) this season (source: Statcast).


Ian Happ (first Gold Glove in his career)
Ian Happ led the National League LF in Defensive Runs Saved this season (13).

Happ played a career-high 146 games (142 starts) in LF this season.


Trent Grisham (second career Gold Glove)

Trent Grisham wins the second Gold Glove of his career (2020). He is just the fourth outfielder in Padres history to win multiple Gold Gloves (Tony Gwynn 5, Steve Finley 2, Dave Winfield 2).

Grisham led all CFs in sacks (17) this season (source: Statcast).


Mookie Betts (6th career Gold Glove)

Mookie Betts wins his sixth career Gold Glove, the most of any active outfielder.

Betts finished with 15 RBI this season (2nd among RFs).


Brendan Donovan (first gold glove in his career)

Brendan Donovan is the first rookie in Cardinals history to win a Gold Glove.

Donovan appeared in six different positions (at four he was average or better in DRS).

Leave a Comment